Bottom of the Social Ladder.

After eating another Gecko Steak for breakfast I make a quick trek down to the waterholes to freshen up.

One thing I’ve already noticed is that I’m burning through food and water much more quickly than I would playing normally. The sleep requirements are actually rather slack, and in a normal game you can go ages without sleeping before negative effects kick in.
But you do get hungry and thirsty while you sleep and my regular sleeping (more then you’d normally need) means that I’m losing 8-10 hours of in-game time a day. That’s a lot of in-game time for starvation/thirst to build up.
Plus, time I’m sleeping is time I’m not using to find additional resources.

Joe spends the rest of the morning faffing about town looking for any plants or herbs that he could take. It’s harder then it sounds, because I’d keep getting excited, only to find that the item was red (i.e. owned).
I mean, Joe’s not the sort who is going to start raiding the crops of the settlers for food. Not yet anyway.
Joe also picks up any trash he finds round about. Not because I’m being a tidy Kiwi, but because every little item translates to caps. Even old dented cans, while only getting about one quarter of a cap, add up if you find enough. I can’t shake the feeling that at this stage Joe is apparently a post-apocalyptic bag-lady.

By mid-day Joe has tapped out the resources in town (unless I stoop to stealing), so it’s time to start exploring outside of Goodsprings. Which means creatures. Creatures and possibly girlish screaming. But who knows, maybe I’ll find a treasure-trove of empty, dented cans!
I’m not sure where to go first, but from the middle of town I can just make out a giant cross off in the distance. It does make sense that Joe would first explore a landmark he can see from the safety of town, so off I go!

You can just make out the cross under the reticle

You can just make out the cross under the reticle

After a little walking Joe sees some coyotes down in the valley.

Damn dirty dog!

Damn dirty dog!

The first one went down after the first shot, and the 2nd didn’t last much longer after charging into my gun-sights. Solid strategy it wasn’t.
So Joe scores some meat and pelts from the corpses – which will make a nice change from the gecko meat I’ve been eating.
So far no screaming – that’s a good start.
It suddenly occurs to me that I’d forgotten to fit the scope I’d brought for my hunting rifle earlier. I go ahead and clip the scope on to my rifle now – better late then never.

It seems to be a longer walk then I thought it would be – as you probably remember I’m trying not to run everywhere, and the walking speed is not great. As I approach the monument in the distance I see that there is some sort of building just off to the left of it – which means I’m pretty sure there will be some looting in Joe’s future. Looting is good.

You can see the cross to the right, and the shack on the left

You can see the cross to the right, and the shack on the left

Joe eventually makes it all the way to the monument and I am mildly surprised when the tiny amount of XP you get for finding a new location causes him to level up!
I put a few points into the ‘non-combat’ skills and choose the ‘Lady Killer’ perk which will allow Joe to flirt with the ladies. I’m not sure Joe IS a lady killer, but it was the only perk that didn’t seem ridiculously out of place.

Anyhow, it appears the monument is a pre-war memorial to soldiers who died in World War 3 before the bombs dropped. There are two fresher graves here I could dig up with a shovel, but I’m not sure Joe wants to lower himself to being a grave robber.

Impressive cross. But where's my loot?

Impressive cross. But where's my loot?

It’s then I notice some hand painted signs that are just to the north of the site.

Warning. DeathclOH MY GOD WHAT THE F#$K?!

Warning. DeathclOH MY GOD WHAT THE F#$K?!

Oooooooh, HELL no!
That kills any thoughts of coming back this way again. A deathclaw is a challenge for level 20 characters, at level 2 it’d be game over in seconds!
I decide I’ll check out the hut and then get the hell outta here.

The abandoned shack is dark and grim… and somewhat confusingly the main source of light is a burning barrel in the corner. Really? How is that a good idea? And even if the best way to light a hut is to set a goddamn fire inside, I’m not sure how the damn thing is still burning.

Well, someone's a Messy Bessy

Well, someone's a Messy Bessy

Odd everlasting fire locations aside, there is a bunch of stuff here for Joe to collect. A golf club, a Lads Life magazine, a machete, drugs, scrap electronics and all manner of other rubbish. YES! Now I can say I’m ‘prospecting’ rather then ‘collecting anything lying round in the street like an escaped mental patient’.
Actually, after it was all tidied up the place actually looked pretty good.
I actually consider making this place Joe’s new home, but it’s a long walk from the town and would be a serious pain if I had to walk all that whenever I needed any of the townfolk. Also, you know… deathclaws.

Not too bad once you tidy up a bit

Not too bad once you tidy up a bit

So, with a pocket full of loot Joe starts making his way back to Goodsprings. On the way back I notice a rad-scorpion. Joe was about to try shooting it (if hostilities are going to happen I might as well get the first shot in) when I notice that behind it is a GIANT rad-scorpion. That’s a close call, because it would’ve creamed him.
I try to ignore the urge to crap my virtual pants as I slowly back off, and once I’m sure I’m far enough away I RUN all the way back to Goodsprings. Discretion being the better part of valour and all that.

Joe had no other plans this afternoon, so I figure he should finally go and visit Ringo the trader. Ringo is the one being hunted by the local ‘Powder Ganger’ gang. I don’t really want to get involved, but the old gas station is the only building in Goodsprings Joe hasn’t explored.

On one hand, I want to stay out of trouble. On the other hand, I haven’t looted this place yet.

On one hand, I want to stay out of trouble. On the other hand, I haven’t
looted this place yet.

Ringo isn’t really what I expected. In fact he seems more interested in playing cards then chatting about the people who might be hunting him. Which is nice, because a spot of gambling is far more inviting then being guilt tripped about his eventual, inevitable death-by-powder-gang.

Seriously, dude... Card games?

Seriously, dude... Card games?

He teaches me a game called ‘Caravan’. It’s kind of like competitive Solitaire mixed with Black Jack, and also you get to build your own deck. It’s much easier to play then to explain, but apparently people all round the wasteland wager on the games.
Ringo offers to play, and that seems preferable to hearing about his troubles. Joe puts up a good show; but Ringo wins and takes most of his money. And then after a 2nd game he takes what caps Joe had left.
Bugger.

He’s just lucky that I’m not the vengeful sort, because for a moment I have the urge to shoot him myself. Joe does get to keep the customised deck of cards though, so it wasn’t a total loss.
Once I finish up with Ringo I notice that the old petrol station is full of junk. Ringo doesn’t seem to mind, so I pocket all the empty bottles and cans; as well as a full bottle of Whisky, a few chemicals and a big carton of cigarettes.

.MMMMmmmm - Junk.

.MMMMmmmm - Junk.

I spy a safe under an old mattress that seems to have gone unmolested for the last 200 years. Well, Joe will fix that!
After taking everything not nailed down, Joe takes his leave of Ringo’s temporary home.

So after all my hard work… you know, when Joe looted the room of a guy who is essentially a refugee… I deserve a drink, so I spend some time at the saloon before wandering over to my caravan for a good snooze.

Home, sweet rusted metal box

Home, sweet rusted metal box

2 Responses to “Bottom of the Social Ladder.”

  1. this makes me want to play fall out……. might just have to rent it

  2. Lost Dragon Says:

    I like Joe’s adventures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

