Want to Learn to fly

I go through the usual morning ritual and wonder down the hill to get a drink. As well as saving my resources for some later date; drinking from the spring-water completely replenishes my character’s drink meter, unlike drinking from a bottle which only replenishes a set amount of ‘thirst’.

Since the northern pass seems to be altogether too ‘deathclawy’ Joe decides to head south. There’s a road that runs north to south and runs through Goodsprings, so I decide that it might be a good plan to follow it southwards. After storing all unnecessary items in my caravan, Joe starts off down the road to see what wonderful new locations there are to loot.

A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he's not afraid of anything.

A man walks down the street in that hat, people know he's not afraid of anything.

The road runs down parallel to the path from goodsprings to the goodsprings springs, but Joe can’t see the path over the desert hills. The road seems to veer to the south-east and then runs into a t-junction. At the point the roads intersect there is a small hut – allegedly a Sky Diving Company.

I should have paid more attention to those little red blips on my compass.

I should have paid more attention to those little red blips on my compass.

Looking off to the south Joe can see the remains of a massive wooden roller-coaster; but while I long to ride to woodern tornado, I don’t think Joe is ready to explore that way just yet – I imagine that way lies doom. Instead I pop into the Sky Diving Company to see what treasures might be hidden within.

But I want to ride a roller coaster!

But I want to ride a roller coaster!

At first I’m kinda disappointed at the few items I find – just a few rounds of ammo and no hint of neat sky-diving equipment for next time Joe falls off a cliff. It’s obviously been picked through before in the hundreds of years since the bombs fell.

Sky Diving Company? You decide!

Sky Diving Company or structurally unsound Shack? You decide!

But when looking through the lockers I noticed that one was locked tight. And when Joe manages to pick the lock I’m rewarded with a veritable treasure trove.

J-j-j-j-j-j-j-jackpot!

J-j-j-j-j-j-j-jackpot!

Upon exiting I’m feeling fairly smug and nearly don’t notice the shout from behind the building. Before I know whats going on, Joe is being attacked by two powder gangers. One is firing with some sort of hand-gun while the other throws dynamite – which is more explody than is ideal.

There are only two of them, right?
The one with the pistol had been advancing, but a good shot throws him backwards over the edge of the small cliff. Victory for Joe! As soon as he falls back I switch to my rifle and start taking pot-shots at the second.
The second chap doesn’t like getting shot at and starts making a bee-line for me. I lose sight of him under the cliff-edge for a moment, and when I tip-toe over to the edge he’s gone.

Hey! Where do you think you're going?

Hey! Where do you think you're going?

Somewhat predictably he manages to sneak up behind me and starts to unload in Joe’s back. It’s just as well my Vault Armour is fairly sturdy. I then implement plan B. In this case, plan B is: Panic, spin around until you’re disorientated and fall over the edge of the cliff.
Luckily this cunning plan confuses him and gives me time return fire. After a few good shots he collapses and falls down the cliff, his body somewhat conveniently landing right next to the corpse of his companion. Howzat!

Joe walks over to their bodies and he takes all their clothes. Demeaning AND profitable.

Then I go and check out the plane. Disappointingly there is nothing there to ‘relocate’, but considering the locker contents and the inventories of my fallen foe, I’m quite happy with my haul.

Ship like this, be with you till the day you die.

Freakin tease

I figure I should get my loot back home, so I head back west into the hills and relative safety.
Joe eventually makes it over to a campfire that’s just south of the most southern spring. It’s familiar ground and a safe place to stop and see if there is anything Joe can cook or create.

About the same condition as the house I’m renting.

Looks like my first flat.

I've been in a firefight before. [Pauses] Well, I was in a fire. [Pauses] Actually, I was fired, from a fry cook opportunity.

I've been in a firefight before.
Well, I was in a fire.
Actually, I was fired, from a fry cook opportunity.

As Joe pushes further west I’m attacked by a lone hunter gecko – a lone hunter gecko which was mysteriously without any entourage of smaller lizards… which seemed a little odd, but I didn’t want to look a gift-gecko in the mouth. I’m grateful for the extra meat, even if Joe is beginning to tire of his new ‘all-gecko’ diet.
But the situation turns a little grim when he finds the bodies of a few more geckos a little to the north – already picked clean of meat or skins. And surrounded by the gecko remains is an NPC’s corpse.

Don't worrry, friend... I'll take care of all that gear for you.

Don't worrry, friend... I'll take care of all that gear for you.

I know from various playthroughs that Barton Thorn would offer you a quest if you find him alive, and this is a timely reminder that the wasteland is dangerous place for everyone – not just Joe.
In fact, the entire cast of this game (minus one robot and the children) are killable. If a hostile person or creature got into a town things can go a little bit murdery.
While some would consider it a bug, I like the idea that the wasteland is a dynamic place where anything can happen.

Anyhow, I don’t know Barton, but I take all his stuff. It’s what he would have wanted.
Maybe.
Maybe not.
But it should be a comfort that his items are going to a good cause.
That good cause being ‘my pockets’.

He seems to have had a home in a nearby caravan, and I dig through that looking for items too. I have no shame. But I DO have his stuff.

Aaaaand I'll take care of those too.

Aaaaand I'll take care of those too.

If it had a little more storage I would consider relocating… which goes to show I can’t learn from other’s mistakes.

If it had a little more storage I would consider relocating…
which goes to show I can’t learn from other’s mistakes.

If he hadn’t died Barton would have sent me up a nearby path, so I figure that it’s as good a place as any for Joe to go now.
The path is packed with geckos, but that’s not a bad thing. I’m grateful for all the meat.

Very brave... but you are made out of food.

Very brave... but you are made out of food.

At the top of the road is a small natural platform. There of a number of beartraps, but my reward is the contents of an old fridge and the ability to loot yet another corpse.
And, obviously, the metric crap-ton of gecko meat I collected on the way up here.

A wonderful  view… of all the things I will one day steal

A wonderful view… of all the things I will one day steal

Joe did well today, so I treat him to a few rounds of cards with Ringo and a nice drink at the saloon as a reward. Well done, Joe!

One Response to “Want to Learn to fly”

  1. The Tallest Says:

    I want more. I’m having a bad day and Joe is entertaining. Bring me more Joe!!

Leave a Reply

