Coyote Ugly

So, Joe has explored much of the south… perhaps I should look to the east? I’ll just have to be careful not to drift north while I explore due to the Deathclaws.

This place could use a woman's touch

This place could use a woman's touch

After buying some more ammo Joe hikes out east and, unlike his travels south, he’s not seeing a lot of life.
It’s far more desert-y.
I’m considering turning back when I notice that around a near-by cliff there seems to be a small cave.

Uncle Caveman

When I was a kid my favourite relative was Uncle Caveman. After school we'd all go play in his cave, and every once in a while he would eat one of us. It wasn't until later that I found out that Uncle Caveman was a bear.

Outside the cave there are a couple of coyotes just hanging out and relaxing in the sun. Feel a little guilty as I start shooting – but in my defence they ARE made of tasty meat.
After harvesting them like some sort of canine grim-reaper, Joe makes his way through the cave and finds a whole pack of coyote within.

It is pitch black.

It is pitch black.

Two coyote are a meal, but a pack of coyote are a problem. I lob a lazy grenade into their midst and bolt out the door. A cunning plan of attack, since the mouth of the cave is an area transition that I thought would stop the coyote from chewing on Joe’s leg.
Not TOO cunning it turns out, because shortly after I emerge into the noon-day sun the whole pack comes bounding after me. Well….. F#$%.

Joe manages to shoot the biggest, a den mother, before the others have all appeared. Once the others do appear it becomes clear that most of them are puppies.
Puppies.
Joe, killer of puppies.
I am a puppy killer.

You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Any pangs of guilt for shooting puppies are quickly put to rest when I see the mess right at the back of the cave. Piles of blood and bone, along with several bodies give a rather grim picture of what went on here.
Being a good natured man, I take all their items. They wouldn’t want their belongings left here in a dark cave, I’m sure.

Done like a dead dog’s dinner.

Done like a dead dog’s dinner.

Bodies all looted, Joe heads back out into the noonday sun and sets off again. It’s at the last moment I see the ground drop away from in front of me and avoid falling into a massive freaking hole. Joe clambers down the trailer to take a peek around the bottom of the sink-hole.

Holy sudden dropoff, Batman! (Holy - hole-y. Geit?)

Holy sudden dropoff, Batman! (Holy - hole-y. Geit?)

I find a bunch of items including some Hydra – a drug that can somehow restore damaged limbs. They just grow back or something, I guess. That’s pretty important in hardcore mode because Stimpacks (the health potions of a fallout game) no longer heals limb damage. You have to rely on doctors, hydra and doctor’s bags.
I was also very excited to see a big cow’s skull that’d have been great for my hut – but sadly I couldn’t pick it up and it seemed stuck on the ground.

Wow. I’m really scraping the bottom of the barrel.

Wow. I’m really scraping the bottom of the barrel.

I figure that I’ve done about enough for today, so I clamber back up the broken vehicles and head back down into town. I reward myself with a brand new suit.

Nothing suits him like a suit

Nothing suits him like a suit

Before heading off to bed I pop up and play a bit more money off Ringo. The more I win off him, the more I like him!

Leave a Reply

