Road Trip!

I spent another whole week in Novac hanging out, meeting the locals (and a gambling with them) and reading the books Joe had collected in his travels thus far. But as comfortable as I am, I have a burgeoning feeling of discontent.
Joe could live here, buying food from the store and passing traders, for a fairly long time. Supplemented with plants from the local area I would never need to work again. But something is missing.
And it slowly dawns on me what is missing. In the capital wasteland Joe had Joe’s Wonder Emporium. He had a store, employees and a role in the tiny community. Not so now – now he’s just one dude alone in a motel room.

Now building a business is all good and all, but I’m not sure I can make it happen in Novac. There’s no spare place I could use as a store… nothing that’s not already owned. And just random exploring is a lot more dangerous than it was in the capital wasteland since half this place is a massive war-zone between the legion and the NCR.

So… I’m a wealthy single man. No options. No goals. No job. Too much cash. What’s a guy like that to do?
Obviously – Road trip to Vegas!

It’s going to be an adventure!

It’s going to be an adventure!

I had prepared the night before, so at the break of day I’m ready to roll! I pick my three favorite guns, pack food and water, and a bunch of stim-packs.
Novac behind me, open road and adventure in front of me!

Apparently adventure looks like a dusty road and a few shrubs.

Apparently adventure looks like a dusty road and a few shrubs.

Turns out that road-trip equals more walking. Joy.
On the bright side, I’m picking up a new Jazz station these days that’s at least a little different to the other two stations I’m normally stuck with.

It’s so hot… almost makes you wish for a nuclear winter.

It’s so hot… almost makes you wish for a nuclear winter.

Sweet baby Jesus on a tricycle, all this walking is KILLING me!

When adventure hits it’s suddenly… and with a knife.
I could whine about how Joe was badly hurt (he was) and almost died (he did), but frankly after the long slow road it’s almost a relief.
A pack of vipers come running out from behind a sand-dune, and at first I think it’s not going to be an issue. But the combined fire of all my attackers means that things start going rather horribly wrong.
My health starts to drop at an astronomic rate, and a lucky shot from one raider cripples my leg.

Joe goes into full retreat and jabs himself with two stim-packs as he tries to put some cover between himself and his attackers. News flash: Cover is not so easy to find in a desert.
Also, in the normal game you heal instantly, but hardcore mode’s ‘heal over time’ may be the end of me.

And then I’m saved… sort of.
Normally when you’re fleeing from one attacker, a second aggressor is not ideal. But in this case the blowflies that Joe runs past are hostile to him AND the raiders. There is a brief moment of confusion before the raiders all decide that a giant mutant blowfly is a bigger threat then a fleeing Joe.
It’s a little insulting that they think that a big fly is a bigger threat to their ongoing health then I am. And it’s also quite wrong…
Not because I’m skilled combatant.
… but because I’m holding a grenade.

I loved the ‘WTF’ look on the Jackal’s face…

I loved the look he gives the fly

The raiders are (somewhat predictably) are able to kill the bobbing blowflies.
While the raiders are standing over the corpse of the fly (presumably high-fiving and talking about how totally awesome they are), Joe has enough time to take aim and throw the grenade right into their midst.

The results are immensely satisfying, taking the leg off the lead raider and badly hurting two more.

No, don't worry about me... you just all keep standing there.

No, don't worry about me... you just all keep standing there.

Melee vs Shotgun

Melee vs Shotgun

Shotgun wins!!!!

Shotgun wins!!!!

Once the malfeasant bandits lay slain I’m left in a pretty bad way. But not so bad that I don’t make time to loot the bodies.
It’s a tough decision then – do I limp back to town, or press onwards? I decide to press on.

Other then the odd ancient billboard, the road is fairly quiet. I occasionally see a giant ant or some other creature lurking somewhat off the road. I used to hunt ants for food, but at the moment I’m not wanting for sustenance and my health is too low to risk a fluke hit.

She can ride my hobby horse

She can ride my hobby-horse any time!

My limping is slowing things down even more than normal, and I’m really regretting having left my doctor bags at home. Damn things are so heavy and I wanted to leave room for prospecting, but I could sure use one now.
But Joe is in luck – Up ahead of me is a traveling merchant –and I’m able to trade for water, food and a blessed doctor’s bag! Huzzah!

Saved by Capitalism!

Saved by Capitalism!

Just up the road ahead is the ruin of an old petrol station. Its late afternoon, so I decide I’ll sleep here for the night. Joe needs a place to rest up, refresh himself and use that doctor’s bag.

Any port in a storm

Any port in a storm

Inside the old station is old abandoned and dusty, but amongst the rubbish are a few old-world supplies that have been overlooked. Unlike the capital wasteland, where the population seemed to live off antique instant-meals, the Mojave desert settlers only eat ‘fresh’ meals.
Sadly there is no place in here I can sleep.

Luckily it looks like I’ll have better luck right next door. The old adjacent garage looks, frankly, unhygienic – but there is temporary bedding there I can use.

Mmmm... 200 year old snacks.

Mmmm... 200-year-old snacks.

Yikes! Where's my disinfectant?

Yikes! Where's my disinfectant?

I have to say… this place is a prime contender for a new store.
For starters, it’s a small store that should be easy to stock. It wouldn’t take too much of my loot to stock the shelves and make the place look good.
There are obviously traders that come by (although they don’t stop, so I’ll have to wait on the road for them).
There is no local competition.
And I can sleep right next door!

But dreams of Joe’s Wonder Emporium can wait… I’ve got perfectly good money to waste in Vegas first!
After a good nights sleep Joe is feeling a lot better.

Let’s see what excitement awaits me on the road today!

*Sigh*

*Sigh*

Crap.

3 Responses to “Road Trip!”

  1. This is easily one of the best game stories ever. Reading this even inspired me to start a new game in hardcore mode. (It sounded fun)

  2. falllout=epicness Says:

    awwwwwwwww…its over! 😦

Leave a Reply

