Road Trip Part II: Trip Harder

Oh, good. More walking.

Well, there are less deadly ambushes this time, and I guess that’s a good thing.
Still… auugh.

To trudge: the slow, weary, depressing yet determined walk of a man who has nothing left in life except the impulse to simply soldier on.

To trudge: the slow, weary, depressing yet determined walk of a
man who has nothing left in life except the impulse to simply soldier on.

And that’s pretty much all Joe did all day.

The first sign of life that I see is a wondering stranger who was camped out under a giant sarsaparilla sign. I rest under his watchful eye until the next morning.
And then… back to the trudging.

Nice guy. Didn't even ask me WTF I was doing in his bed.

Nice guy. Didn't even ask me WTF I was doing in his bed.

The next morning… well… say what you want about how sterile life in the Vault is, but at least I didn’t have to walk f#$%ing miles at a time.
This diary section might not be gloriously entertaining to read, but frankly if I had to suffer through the slow-ass ambling, then you do too!

After yet more marching, Joe comes to a crossroads. Continuing straight on down the road heads towards the Vegas Strip, the other way heads to Hoover dam and Boulder City.
Joe’s heard a lot of stories about NCR mobilization in that area, and while I’m friendly with the New California Republic I’m not going wondering into a war zone… at least not yet.
So… northwards it is.

(Although as I type this I’m beginning to wonder if I should get into arms dealing. It would go nicely with this new amoral puppy killing, handicapped murdering, grave-robbing persona Joe seems to be getting.)

West to adventure? No, thank you. I choose LIFE.

West to adventure? No, thank you. I choose LIFE.

After all that bloody wandering, I can’t express just how happy I am to see the 188 Trading Post up ahead.
Under a NCR flag there are a gathering of vendors congregated around an old overpass. There are no settlers here – other than a handful of soldiers and guards, everyone else here is selling something to any poor sod passing through.
Well folks, this IS the poor sod you’re looking for!

I take my time to talk with a few folk and make a few minor trades. The food and water will be useful for any subsequent traveling, and the ammo will be useful for spraying into the air as I desperately back-peddle from my next assailant.

Civilisation! So to speak.

Civilisation! So to speak.

There are two things here that are extremely interesting.
The first is an uninhabited caravan with a few beds in it, a little bit of storage and an unused park table outside. It would be an ideal place to set up a stall of my own.
Sure, there’s not a lot of storage and there’s plenty of competition, but unlike that abandoned petrol station there those are people I can take advantage of… err… I mean ‘trade’ with. The walk from the petrol station to Novac every time Joe wanted to trade would be killer.
I mean, the table wouldn’t be a massive space to show my wares, but it’d be enough.
Definitely something to consider.

Hello! Could you be the next Honest Joe's Wonder Emporium?

Hello! Could you be the next Honest Joe's Wonder Emporium?

The next thing isn’t a thing, it’s a person. Veronica Santangelo – a strange young woman who asks if Joe will take her to New Vegas. Suspicious. But this IS a road trip – and what’s a road trip without a few hoochie mama’s along for the ride?
When I ask her why she’d want to travel with me (stunning good looks and charm, surely), she suggests that I look like I can look after myself. Well… technically I can look after myself, if by ‘look after myself’ you mean ‘panic and flail’.

No one around here has anything bad to say about her – apparently she drops by to buy supplies from time to time.
Not the most ringing endorsement I suppose, but I guess that Joe could use the help to carry crap. And on the up side, if I get attacked I don’t have to try to outrun my attackers… I just have to outrun Veronica.

As a gesture of good will I offer her a suit of leather armour. I’d been saving it to repair my armour once it had become damaged, but if she’ll need it more than I will.

Thank you for interviewing with Honest Joe Enterprises. First question: How fast can you run? No reason.

Thank you for interviewing with Honest Joe Enterprises. First question: How fast can you run? No reason.

I stay the night at the trading post and we set out early the next morning. It’s interesting that the road seems a tad more crowded now… I’ve seen several more wondering traders out about. And amusingly one limping mercenary all alone, trying desperately to catch up with the unaccompanied trader Joe met a few days before.

As we approach the strip the desert transitions to city ruins. Walking is still tedious, but at least I have something to look at now. And Veronica is here to keep me company.

After talking to her for a wee while it turns out that she’s a part of the Brotherhood of Steel. That’s comforting – the Brotherhood are pretty badass, and if she’s with them perhaps I might not have to run if we find ourselves in trouble. Although, to hear her tell it, the Brotherhood here are quite different to the “Reformed” Brotherhood in the Capital Wastes and more like the Outcasts.
But that’s okay too – the Outcasts saved my sorry hide on more then one occasion.

I can see the city! Not far now!

Long time ago me and my buddy Veronica here,
we was hitchhikin' down a long and lonesome road.

Hope I'm not on someone else's claim

Hope I'm not on someone else's claim

I know in my head that I'll be there soon. But I can't FEEL it.

I know in my head that I'll be there soon. But I can't FEEL it.

It’s getting dark and I’m beginning to get thirsty. Veronica doesn’t seem to need food or water, but I do…
Best start looking for some place to bed down.

One Response to “Road Trip Part II: Trip Harder”

  1. Malcolm Rivera Says:

    Does Joe even have enough caps to get into the Strip? I’d like to see him do some odd jobs if not!

Leave a Reply

