Westside Tours Ltd

Westside seems like just the place I’m looking for. On the way it was already obvious that it would be a well defended and self-sufficient settlement. It’s named Westside since it’s located in the Western Ruins of Old Vegas, but it’s totally unconnected to The Strip, Freeside or North Square.

I want to make the best impression I can, but the only suit I have is the one that belonged to Benny. Is that morbid? Changing into Benny’s slick suit before going to meet the locals means I’ll be dressed to impress – I’ll just have to repress the creepifying feelings.

I don't see you guys rating The kind of mate I'm contemplating I'd let you watch, I would invite you But the queens we use would not excite you

I don't see you guys rating
The kind of mate I'm contemplating
I'd let you watch, I would invite you
But the queens we use would not excite you

There is something comforting about a town, wherein the first people you meet are relaxing in the sun enjoying a game of chess.

Sadly it does seem that the ‘useless crap’ market is well provided for already with a sizable Pawn Shop. The shelves are packed and the place carries a great selection of ‘crap that looks valuable, but I couldn’t think of a use for’. I can only dream of having a setup like this.

Sorry, non-american readers. This is not what you think it is.

Sorry, non-american readers. This is not what you think it is.

Does it seem every supply store on every border town has the same five rag dolls and the same wood carvings of... what is this? A duck?

Does it seem every supply store on every border town has the same five rag dolls and the same wood carvings of... what is this? A duck?

Westside also boasts liquor store with a comprehensive range of drinks, and in the centre of town is a Cistern that provides unlimited clean water. Between the two of them, that takes care of any dehydration or my growing alcohol dependence. But what about food? I need to eat.
Well, that’s no problem. All the gardens (inside and outside of the settlement’s walls) are owned by the Westside Co-op.

One of the Westside Co-op's gardens

One of the Westside Co-op's gardens. Ah, Westside Co-op, you've done it again

They sell excess food out of a store here in town. I figure I should go take a look. It’s a pleasant enough walk and soo… oooh, my holy vault! What the hell is that?!

Westside Co-op

Westside Co-op: Have it your way!

Forgive me, Good sir. Your countenance was a tad alarming.

Forgive me, Good sir. Your countenance was a tad alarming.

The looming figure is clearly a super-mutant of some kind, but he’s different from any that Joe has ever met before. For starters, he’s green rather than bile-yellow. Also, he’s not shooting at me or trying to cave my head in with a giant hammer.
Turns out that this Mutant is friendly enough – he goes by the name Mean Sonofabitch, and he’s one reason the Fiends gang stay out of Westside. He’s a tad unnerving, but it’s nice to know he’s on our side.

Inside the co-op is plenty of food. Lucky for Joe, he has most of the money he was going to spend on The Strip, so he won’t be going hungry.

Westside Co-op: Eat fresh!

Westside Co-op: Eat fresh!

"Sounds like a passport to thrills and adventure. So count me out!"

"Sounds like a passport to thrills and adventure. So count me out!"

The last place of note in town is the Casa Madrid Apartments. Both a place to stay, and the local house of ‘ill repute’. The place is owned by a chap named Marco and the ‘companions’ are ‘managed’ by a woman by the misleading name of ‘Pretty Sarah’. I take a quick look around… but I think that I’d rather stay on the makeshift bedding outside. That seems like it would be more hygienic.

A name like that could get you in trouble with the commerce commission

A name like that could get you in trouble with the commerce commission

Well, I’m feeling exhausted, so I’ll rest up for a day or two and then decide what to do next.

Hector and the water-brahmin water crops for the Westside Co-op

Hector and the water-brahmin water crops for the Westside Co-op

Someone to watch over me

Someone to watch over me

Leave a Reply

