Bushwhacked

Well, prospecting isn’t as easy as it used to be and Westside is still boring.
Most of the desert outside of these walls is empty… or fill of life-ending entities that would waste no time in finishing me off, so I’m pretty much stuck inside.
Lucky enough for me, it seems there is an answer right under my feet. Time to visit The Thorn!

The Thorn is an underground arena built within the old sewer system. Within ‘Red Lucy’ battles wasteland creatures against each other for people to wager on. I’m people! And I’m a problem gambler! Sounds right up my ally.

The Thorn at Westside's side

The Thorn at Westside's side

Fight, fight. fight!

Fight, fight. fight!

It’s fairly amusing watching the wasteland creatures rip chunks out of each other, but I don’t have much luck in picking which creatures to bet on. Still, it’s refreshing to see bloodsport that doesn’t involve my own personal blood.

It’s almost evening when I decide it’s best to head back to town to rest for the night. But when I try and find my way back I take the wrong path and end up in a different part of the sewer. To my surprise there are people down here. Like… a lot of people.
The sewers I explored near Freeside had people living down there too. This can’t be the same group, right?

I pass a ladder that apparently leads up into the middle of Westside (convenient!), but decide to press on and explore a little further.

Errr... don't mind me. Your home is lovely.

Errr... don't mind me. Your home is lovely.

Sure enough, not too far further in there is a ladder up into North Square. Like, the same North Square that backs on to the strip and sits right next to Freeside. And it only took a fraction of the time my overland trip took to Westside originally took.

So... How yooou doing?

So... How yooou doing?

Déjà vu

Awesome - I discovered a shortcut to craps-ville

Intrigued, ol’ Joe pops back into the sewers and tromps through the rooms of a few more underground dwellers before finding another ladder that pops up just outside the Crimson Caravan Company.
Firstly: Awesome! This is going to make travelling around a lot easier.
Secondly: Looks like I didn’t put as much distance between myself and the Strip as I had thought.

This design is so hot right now

This design is so hot right now

I might have made me a few enemies thereabouts.

I might have made me a few enemies thereabouts.

I figure that I should avoid inviting any further trouble from the folk in The Strip and decide to drop back down into the underground.

The trip home isn’t quite as straight forward as I thought – for some reason the manhole that I came through is inaccessible now. Stifling a brief burst of panic I search around for an alternative entrance. When I do find one the sewers that I drop into is altogether danker and darker than what I was expecting.

I stumble through the tunnels looking for the way back, but I’m pretty lost when gunfire rings out through the tunnels. Seems I’m not the only one trying to find a sneaky way to get into Westside.

Unfortunately for the fiends, Joe is packing his trusty weathered pistol and the meaty shotgun that Veronica gave him. Equally unfortunately for the fiends, they have still yet to find an armour supplier.

Worst game of peek-a-boo ever

For Frank!

They don't like it when you shoot at 'em. I worked that out myself.

They don't like it when you shoot at 'em. I worked that out myself.

Once the raiders are dead I loot their bodies for anything that I can resell… which is pretty much everything. I will donate the proceeds from the sale of the gear to the defenders of Westside. By which I mean myself, since I just defended Westside.

And that’s when I find the door.
Deep in the wrong part of the sewers, I should be running home and not messing about with strange doors. But this door is special. This door is locked.

And I have a key.

Nothing in the world is more alluring than a locked door

Nothing in the world is more alluring than a locked door

You may not remember, but during my first experience with wasteland sewers I found a key labelled “Luke’s Find” on a corpse. And that key fits in this door.
How can I not want to look inside?

The rooms behind the door are flooded with radiated water. That’s not going to stop me – people who lock doors have something to protect.
What wonderful treasures are locked inside? Valuables? Caps? Weapons?
Valuables, caps AND weapons?

Okay... radiated water. Could be worse.

Okay... radiated water. Could be worse.

Oooooookay... THIS is worse

Oooooookay... THIS is worse

When reality hit it hits with an inhuman scream. It’s a ghoul, but not like any ghoul Joe has ever seen before. My pip-boy identifies it as a ‘Reaver’.
No problem… Joe’s eliminated ghouls before, and this is only one.

The first shot doesn’t stop it… nor does the third, sixth or eighth. And then it’s on me and ripping chunks off me. F@#%EN Owwwwwwww!

Hell, I'll kill a man in a fair fight

Hell, I'll kill a man in a fair fight... or if I think he's gonna start a fair fight, or if he bothers me, or if there's a woman, or if I'm gettin' paid - mostly only when I'm gettin' paid.
But these Reavers... they show up like the bogeyman from stories. Eating people alive? Where's that get fun?

I’m able to gather my wits in time to get out the door and slam it shut behind me. Then I just stand there… watching to see if that thing can break through after me.
Guess sometimes, instead of locking doors to keep thieves out, doors are locked to keep unholy nightmares in.

Now… I’m hurt pretty bad. I need someone to keep all my insides on the inside.

Three, four, better lock your door

Three, four, better lock your door

Leave a Reply

