Preemptive Self-defense

Joe’s safe house diary: Day 15
I think that I’m going give a name the day after Scotch-Day. I’m thinking Sleep-in-Day, since that’s about all I can do after drinking so much scotch.

Joe’s safe house diary: Day 16
Head out to explore another old farmhouse in the desert. Because I want to. Totally NOT because I’m avoiding the mountains and their terrible ghost cave.
Saddened to find that the farmhouse is inaccessible. Even more saddened as bullets start whizzing past me. Spot some raiders up in the nearby barn. Thought they were fiends and was surprised to find them out here, since avoiding the Fiends is half the reason I’m out in the desert rather than holing up in the ruins.
Even more saddened to find out that these aren’t Fiends, they are Vipers. Fiends are tribal, with goofy goat-skull hats and a helpful aversion to body-armor. Vipers have regrettably learned the value of protective clothing.
On the other hand, perhaps they should have looking into some form of head-protection.

Ah-ha. I see you have discovered armour. What is going to stop me shooting you in the neck?

Ah-ha. I see you have discovered armour. Regrettable.

“Jenny, this leather armour is good… but this helmet makes my head look fat. What do you think about this cap?” “Oh that’s just darling. But what about your face?” “Oh, you silly Sally, I’m sure that won’t be an issue.”

“Jenny, this leather armour is good… but the matching helmet makes my head look fat. What do you think about this cap instead?”
“Oh that’s just darling, Jean. But what about your face?”
“Oh Jenny, you silly. Nothing will happen. Try not to lose your head!”

And now the hat is mine. Proving, yet again, that I'm incapable of learning from other people's mistakes.

And now the hat is mine. Proving, yet again, that I'm incapable of learning from other people's mistakes.

Joe’s safe house diary: Day 17
Should I feel bad about shooting those people? Sure, they shot first, but I was trying to bust into a place that was technically theirs. Not sure. Let me ask my friend, Scotch.

Joe’s safe house diary: Day 18
Sctoch says Ima doing oaky.
Doctar Luria drooped by. I meet her couplea days ago, ’cause she the one whose keeps them frigdes full of all of the food.
She dosnt think I’m looking so good. Bahh! What does she kno? Stupd docter… dis stuff its good fur ya.

And ANOTHER thing... what butter an'a whiskey won’t cure, theres no cure for.

And ANOTHER thing... leta me tell you. what butter an'a whiskey won’t cure, theres no cure for.

Joe’s safe house diary: Day 19
Note to self: Apologise next time I met Doctor Luria.
Wonder the desert collecting fruit and plants. The safe house might have a seemingly unlimited supply of food – but you never know when I’ll need a stockpile.
Besides, Joe is a trader at heart… when he’s not desecrating graves, shooting unarmed men and murdering the mentally challenged. It feels wrong eating the follower’s food and not giving anything in return.

Joe’s safe house diary: Day 20
Went out again to collect plants today and it nearly ended in disaster. Wondered a bit far and found a massive group of mercenaries. One of them was dressed all in combat armour and holding the biggest gun I had ever seen.
I should have left them alone, but I have little doubt that they were searching for me – likely in the employ of House or the Chairmen. Someone in Westside must have told them I was heading out into this area.
I wouldn’t have dared an assault on such a large group if it wasn’t for a little gift Veronica had given me – a grenade rifle. I decide to attack in preemptive self-defense (bet you didn’t know that self-defense could be preemptive – it’s a little titbit I picked up from that political manual I found a week back).
I manage to fire it twice and there is a pleasing plume of fire and smoke. It remains pleasing right up to the moment that the survivors emerge from it.
Suffice to say; I’m a tad banged up right now. But there are ample medical supplies here. And I have their fancy gun. And also, tomorrow is Scotch-Day.

Bwahahahahahahahahaha!

Bwahahahahahahahahaha!

Oh, oh.

Oh, oh.

Never goes smooth. How come it never goes smooth?

What the HELL was that?!
It never goes smooth. How come it never goes smooth?

I'm not running... it's a strategic retreat

I'm not running... it's a strategic retreat

From hell's heart I stab at thee!

From hell's heart I stab at thee!

Joe’s safe house diary: Day 21
Yay far scothc!

Leave a Reply

