Jacobstown

So… lets see if this was a good idea, or a terrible mistake.

I have doubts

I STILL have doubts

On my approach my knees are weak and I almost chicken out, but I needn’t have worried. As I approach the gates than I am greeted by fairly congenial mutant named Marcus who seems to run the place.

Not only is he not aggressive, but he’s pretty mild-mannered and super talkative. He’s keen to chat about the settlement he’s named Jacobstown, and about the work he is doing here. Marcus started the place to help “broken-minded” mutants.

"Was part of super mutant army, ran a town, walked the wasteland with a tribal. Now I'm here."

"Was part of super mutant army, ran a town, walked the wasteland with a tribal. Now I'm here."

Apparently mutants who use stealth-boys too much (the blue ones) have a tendency to start talking to themselves. And after they start talking to themselves they start referring to themselves in the third person, become period, start writing oddly detailed letters to no one in particular and then turn violent. Marcus seems to think that ol’ Joe would fit in here here, although I’m not sure why. If anyone else can suggest a reason Joe would be happy to hear about it.
I can’t help but think of the giant blue mutant back on Novac, the one whose notes said it kept hearing cow voices that were keeping him awake. The one that I ambushed and murdered despite the fact he was only shooting cows, not humans. I’m thinking that I shouldn’t mention that incident to Marcus.

Well, I will stay on. That’s the whole point of trudging all the way out here. I’m not overly thrilled at the idea of staying in the lodge with the mutants, but there are a few unused cabins that I might use. After showing myself around, I pick one cabin that is right near the back wall, far away from the other inhabitants. It’ll do nicely.

This is where patients come to get better.

This is where patients come to get better.

So here I am, miles away from any human, up in a lodge surrounded by massive mutants. Could be worse, I suppose. I look around at the mess and decide to put off cleaning until tomorrow. Instead I decide to just relax and take in my new home.

I can't help but feel that this is a step down

I can't help but feel that this is a step down

And that’s when I make the most horrifying discovery yet…
I packed food, I packed water, I packed medicine, I packed weapons… I didn’t pack any scotch.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

One Response to “Jacobstown”

  1. Quinton Beck Says:

    No Scotch!? What’ll happen to Scotch Day!? Glad to see you’re still writing on this, just letting you know I’m still reading.

Leave a Reply

