To Win a War

The next morning I set about gathering support for Ringo’s plight. I’m sure Lily can handle all comers, but I don’t want to take anything for granted.

The first person I speak with Sunny Smiles – A gecko hunter, Sunny helped me learn basic hunting skills back when I first arrived. To my surprise, she agrees almost before I finish talking. Apparently she’s fond of Ringo and doesn’t want to set him strung up for the crows.

Never before has an available speech response been so appropriate for Joe

Option 3:‘We might all die horribly. Well… Maybe not me.’
Never before has an available speech response been so appropriate for Joe

She is less than thrilled with my assessment of the situation, but it’s important to be honest.

Trudy, the barkeep, is the heart and soul of this town. Probably has something to do with her controlling the flow of booze. After a tiny bit of convincing she offers to gather some of the townsfolk to serve as a temporary militia. That will do to distract the gang members while Lily pounds on them.

Other members of the community help out too. Easy Pete offers some dynamite, but frankly I can only guess that throwing explosives about would do more harm than good.
Doc Mitchell, the same doctor that patched me up, offers medical supplies – which, honestly, seems like a much better idea than the explosives.
Chet from the general store offers leather armour for the militia, but says that he himself will stay in his store to protect his belongings – a man after my own cold, black heart.

So... remember how I said I was going to pay you back and then ran off?

So... remember how I said I was going to pay you back and then ran off?

It seems like the town is ready to take a stand against the Powder Gang. But before everything kicks off I’ve got one last thing to take care of.

At the edge of town stands Joe Cobb; a Powder Gang lieutenant, leader of the crew who attacked the trade caravan and spy looking out for evidence of Ringo in Goodsprings.

As I approach, Joe Cobb offers me a reward for information on Ringo. I formally reply.
Reply with lead.
Right in his stupid face.

It would be humiliating. Having to stand there while the better man refuses to spill your blood. Mercy is the mark of a great man.

It would be humiliating. Having to stand there while the better man refuses to spill your blood. Mercy is the mark of a great man.

Guess I'm just a good man.

Guess I'm just a good man.

Well, I'm all right

Well, I'm all right

It’s MUCH easier to win a gun fight if the other bloke isn’t ready for it.

Well, that’s that then. No turning back. Let’s see just how unwise this plan was.

Leave a Reply

