The Siege of Goodsprings

I had plans for this diary entry. Big plans. The epic Siege of Goodsprings was going to be a tale for the ages, but it didn’t really turn out like that at all.

After killing Joe Cobb (and stealing all of his belongings) I dragged his body into town and propped it up on a fence as a warning to the rest of the Powder Gang. There was no turning back now…
I meet with Ringo to warn him that the crap-storm would be rapidly approaching, but before we were even able to finish our discussion, Sunny burst in to stay that the Powder Gang raiding party was on its way.

Ringo and Sunny rush out to the Saloon to help prepare the defences, and I reluctantly follow along behind… a long way behind – discretion being the better part of valour and all that.
Sure enough, walking down the road are five or six gang members armed with knives, rifles and dynamite, intent on slaughtering the inhabitants of this sleepy little ghost-town.
Unfortunately for the gang, what they find isn’t really a sleepy little ghost town… Trudy from the saloon successfully gathered several of the farmers and pioneers, all of whom were armed and armoured, and now waiting behind cover. Between Trudy’s posse, Sunny, Ringo and Lily, the Powder Gang haven’t got a chance.

Err... you guys go right ahead and I'll wait right here... right behind you. Way, way behind you.

We got some local colour happening. A grand entrance would not go amiss.

The Powder Gang wanted a slaughter, and in a way that’s exactly what they got. The moment they came within range of Goodspring’s defenders the foremost gang members collapsed under a hail of fire. And then Lily charged.
The raiding party was unprepared for even a token armed resistance, so there was no way they were expecting to be charged by a giant blue mutant wielding a sledgehammer bigger than they were… Lily scattered them, crushing gang members with just a blow or two, sending most fleeing and then running them down before they can escape.

we got some local color happening. A grand entrance would not go amiss.

Now think real hard. You've been birddoggin' this township a while now. They wouldn't mind a corpse of you...

Now think real hard. You've been birddoggin' this township a while now. They wouldn't mind a corpse of you. Now you can luxuriate in a nice jail cell, but if your hand touches metal, I swear by my pretty floral bonnet I will end you.

...Now you can luxuriate in a nice jail cell, but if your hand touches metal, I swear by my pretty floral bonnet I will end you.

Some story this turned out to be!
Rather than an epic siege where a lovable band of scrappy underdogs held out against overwhelming odds, this entire story can be summed up by, “Some blokes came and then Lilly smashed them”.

I imagine that this was the last Goodsprings will hear of the Powder Gang. Once word gets out about what happened to this raiding party, no one else is going to be foolish enough to risk an attack. And I’m sure that the legend of the giant blue monster of Goodsprings will spread like wildfire.

While the battle was fairly anticlimactic, this is still a victory for Joe. The inhabitants of Goodsprings finally have the Powder Gang off their backs, and Ringo is now free to return home.
Ringo kindly offers Joe a reward for helping him out (I’m sure that to refuse would be considered rude), and he promises more should Joe ever visit him over at the Crimson Caravan compound. I’ll have to head out there again when setting up my Northen Store and setting up a trade route – some bonus caps may come in handy.

So, what to do now?

Ringo’s old hiding place in the station has everything I’ll need to start my first store; a secure building, storage containers, shelves, a safe and even a mattress. Goodsprings was even kind enough to provide me with plenty of stock – since I was quick to loot the Power Gang’s belongings.
I’d forgotten just how profitable killing people could be.

Murder a few more folk and we'll have this place full in no time!

Murder a few more folk and we'll have this place full in no time!

But before I start setting up a shop, I want to find some better place to lay my head.
Surely I can do better than a rusted out old camper-van; I’m the freaken hero of Goodsprings now! (Okay, so I guess Lily is the hero of Goodsprings… but Joe is hero adjacent.)

The search for more heroic accommodations is on!

Leave a Reply

