A Death in the Family

Lily.

I can’t help but feel partially responsible for this.


Okay, totally responsible for this.

There is a pitiful bleating from the back room where Primm’s deputy is hog-tied. I untie him and set him free, but I don’t bother to talk to him before I watch him run off. I’m not concerned about rewards or accolades right now, my focus is on Lily.

Frankly, dude... I'm not sure you were worth it.

Frankly, dude... I'm not sure you were worth it.

Her body is too heavy for Joe to take for a proper burial, so instead I take her trusty hammer which I’ll lay to rest.
I’m not in the mood for chatting, so rather than checking in on the deputy, I head back to the Goodsprings, our adopted home. In the Goodsprings graveyard there is still an open grave, ironically the one I was saved from – and I can’t think of a better resting place for Lily’s spirit then there.

In the grave I place her battle-hammer, but I also include a pre-war book (which is a stand-in for the recording of her grandchildren that Joe overheard her listening to) and a teddy bear (which I feel is appropriate given Lily’s gentle, loving nature). Good bye, Lily. I’m sorry I’m so terrible that you died.

When you can't run anymore, you crawl

When you can't run anymore, you crawl... and when you can't do that, well, you know the rest.

Now to drink away my pain! My. MY. My, my slow descent.

Now to drink away my pain. My. MY. My, my slow descent.

The next few days go by in a drunken blur. The death of a companion is a heavy weight to bear. And that goes double when it’s pretty clearly your fault.
The first few nights I spend at home, but I eventually run out of booze and have to head over to the bar. Over several nights I drink Joe’s weight in booze. The locals seem happy enough to listen to me pontificate about my regrets… that or they aren’t listening.

… an’ wats important ‘s that she was away there fur me, an’ that’s even though she did sometimes think that I was her grankid…

… an’ wats important ‘s that she was aways there fur me, an’ that’s even though she did sometimes think that I was her grankid…

ya know? She was a good sort.

…ya know? She was a good sort. And kind. And willing ta help with the heavy liften. And supportive with the grandmotherly advice and such…

 nevea did evea she her do no harm to no one.

…and I nevea did evea she her do no harm to no one. Well… no one who diddna deserve it...

But eventually I have to snap out of it. Lily wouldn’t want Joe drinking his life away.
Well… Lily probably had no idea who Joe was. She thought I was her grandson Jimmy. But Lily wouldn’t want Jimmy drinking his life away, and that’s close enough.
Joe helped Goodsprings for personal gain, but Lily was only ever in it to help me. She’d want Joe to do something useful, help those around him and mistake regular people for individuals with whom I have a close familial bond. Well, Grandma Lily – your little Jimmy won’t let you down!

There’s not a lot to do around Goodsprings. When Lily cleared out the Powder Gang, she solved the only problem they had.
But down in Primm there is still work to do. Lily died helping the town – it’s only right I finish her work.

Before I leave, I look through my store and gather up all the teddy bears… everyone in Primm is going to get a memorial Lily Bowin Teddy Bear… it will be magical.

Probably more appropriate than memorial dynamite. Plus I have more of them.

Probably more appropriate than memorial dynamite. Plus I have more of them.

One Response to “A Death in the Family”

  1. Rest in peace Lily!

Leave a Reply

