Follow the road

Well, Joe is now rotten with radiation, and no matter what you think of his ace new sunglasses, the fact is that Joe is dire need of medical attention. The solution is due north from here in Novac. The good doctor there (and I use the adjective ‘good’ fairly loosely) should be able to administer enough rad-a-way to get me feeling well again. All I got to do is get to her. Easy, right?

Right?

Let’s go, pardner!

Let’s go, pardner!

In a move that I’d later regret I figure that, rather than follow the road, I’ll just head in a generally northern direction. The idea was to pick up any wild items that might grow just off the beaten track. Because, you know… free stuff.

Like this Prickly Pear. It’s like a pear… only prickly!

Like this Prickly Pear. It’s like a pear… only prickly!

This is what people turn to when they don’t have access to internet forums…

This is what people turn to when they don’t have access to internet forums…

At first, this plan works wonderfully. I pick up quite a few morsels along my route – mostly fruit from the cacti that grow hereabouts. Just as I am beginning to feel smug about my ingenious plan; bullets, shouting and a general hullabaloo made me panic and dive for cover… until it becomes apparent that the bullets are not aimed at me.
Before in my travels I’d seen NCR patrols and legion patrols, but I’d always stayed well clear of them both. Well, now a legion patrol and a NCR patrol had seen each other, and the fracas from down the hill was evidence that my previous eversion was a wise plan.

I just watched as the Legion recruits ripped through the NCR patrol. For a moment, it had looked like the NCR would win, since they had ranged firepower – but they only took down a single Legionnaire before the rest of the Legion soldiers were on top of them, hacking them to bits.
Morally, Joe supports the NCR – since he is a massive supporter of their ‘not-crucifying-whole-towns’ policy. But practically I’m not willing to get involved in a fight if none of the participants are already after my head.

This is not going to end well.

This is not going to end well.

Once the skirmish is over the Legion Patrol moves on its way – leaving their own dead behind them along with the bodies of the NCR. Well… waste not, want not…
Turns out that looting bodies that someone else has killed is even more profitable than looting bodies that you’ve killed yourself. Not to mention less painful.

Ashes to Ashes, dust to dust. Is it wrong to note, that you had a nice bust?

Ashes to Ashes, dust to dust.
Is it wrong to note, that you had a nice bust?

Now with a fresh load of weapons and armour I head off to the north once again. It’s at this point the folly of my plan begins to become apparent – the road to Novac goes straight to Novac… this off-road route is nothing but bloody hills… And the sun is already setting. From the top of the hill I was standing upon, I could just make out the Novac dinosaur off in the distance… But it seems to be freaken miles away.
Not wanting to get caught off guard in the dark, I rest the night in the valley below. It’s not particularly refreshing or rejuvenating, but it means I can keep traveling in the light.

It turns that out hiking over mountainous terrain isn’t the most effective way to travel.

It turns that out hiking over mountainous terrain isn’t the most effective way to travel.

With the flaws of cross-country travel now evident, I decide to make my back way to the road in the hopes of completing my journey before I become dehydrated… or starved… or exhausted… or dehydrated, starved and exhausted. Although at this stage I’m fairly disorientated so ‘making my back way to the road’ turns into ‘wondering in pointless circles’.
Obviously, I still know which direction Novac is in – the ridiculous wooden dinosaur is still visible from the top of any hill. But the location of the road to Novac is still a mystery.
It’s not all bad – I stumble across an old half-buried Highwayman. I’m not sure who owned the car, but there is a heap of supplies in the boot, despite the fact that half the boot seems to be missing. I take everything other than the Tanker FOB… not sure what use I’d have for it.

THE car is alright… but I wouldn’t have CHOSEN this ONE.

THE car is alright… but I wouldn’t have CHOSEN this ONE.

What follows next is a lot more pointless wondering, until I (at last) find the road. That’s the good news.
The bad news is that there seems to be a veritable horde of hostiles between me and Novac. Ed-e’s scanners are picking up heaps of them. But I can make out Novac from my position and I’ll be buggered if I’ll spend another night in the wastes. Instead it’s time to get sneaky.

Bugger.

Bugger.

I’m very, very sneaky.

I’m very, very shneaky.

Sneaking through the desert is even slower than walking was, and about 60% less fun. It’s just getting dark when I finally make it into Novac, but it was all worth it. Tonight I’ll have my own bed to sleep in.

Hazzah!

Fine! Take it! Take your blood money

Fine! Take it! Take your blood money

Leave a Reply

