Enter Sandman

MMMMmmmm, the sweet, sweet feeling of being rad-free. I’m now slightly torn about where to go next. I could go back to the ranch, but the plan was always to head back towards Vegas. One thing is for sure – I don’t want to stay here.
The NCR outpost, Primm, Goodsprings and even Slone Mining camp all had social areas where Joe could hang out with familiar friends. Novac doesn’t really have any place like that – and while people sometimes hang out in the motel courtyard, it’s not really the same.
But on the bright side, my motel room is packed with the riches of Nipton, so I can live comfortably, if not socially.

It’s like a thousand voices called out in horror, and then I took all their stuff.

It’s like a thousand voices called out in horror, and then I took all their stuff.

After sleeping a night or three in Novac I’m ready to get gone, and after a lot of indecision I decide to head north. After trading away a few items to some traders who were passing through, I’m ready to be on my way.

Get along, little dogie! (Am I the only one weirded out that dogie is a cow and doggy is a dog?)

Get along, little dogie! (Am I the only one weirded out that dogie is a cow and doggy is a dog?)

Thus I have to walk a whole lot more. It’s hard to convey the inherent boredom of walking when an hour’s worth of trudging gets condensed into two lines in this diary. So, take these boring pictures of sand as retribution!

SAND I: The sands of time

SAND I: The sands of time

SAND II: Joe Dirt

SAND II: Meet Joe Dirt

SAND III: True Grit

SAND III: True Grit

I sleep overnight at the little petrol station I once thought would make a good shop. But you’re not getting a picture of that, because you might find the sunset softly casting its gentle light through the ancient reminder of a world long gone to be slightly interesting, and if I have to be bored, so do you.
Early the next morning Ed-e and I set out once again up the road towards 188 Trading Post and slightly more interesting surroundings.
But it looks like something interesting might be waiting just around the corner. Ed-e’s scanners have picked up something just off the road, sitting up in the hill. After a day and a half of walking through sand, I’m more than happy to check out some hidden point of interest.

Are you sure… because it looks like more sand.

Are you sure… because it looks like more sand.

Heading around the hills I’m beginning to doubt my little floating friend, but just as I’m about to give up, we spot a door in the side of the hill. It’s small and wooden, but how it looks means almost nothing – who knows what wonders could be hiding within? OR what might be waiting to eat me?
At this point, the sun is beginning to set and being eaten would be sweat relief from the sand.

Let’s see what’s behind door number 1!

Let’s see what’s behind door number 1!

It turns out that what is waiting behind the door is a giant, angry rat. Hardly a glorious find, but on a scale of zero to horrific, a giant rat only rates as mildly annoying.
Once the rat is despatched we are able to get a better look at the cave, and what we see might be enough to make this entire trip worth it: A solid iron wall, a control panel and a cog-shaped door.

Well, well, well.

Well, well, well.

Hello, Vault 11.

Leave a Reply

