Sweet Sunlight Sonata

I’ll forgo describing the meandering that was involved in finding my way out of Vault 11. Let’s just say that it was less blazing the trail and more dumb luck. But there are no killer robots, traps or radiated water on the top levels, so it’s really only a matter of time before Joe is able to emerge from the depths relatively victorious.

Free at last! Free at last! Thank the vault almighty I’m free at last!

Free at last! Free at last! Thank the vault almighty I’m free at last!

Mmmmm, parched desert has never been such a welcome site!

Mmmmm, parched desert has never been such a welcome sight!

Back out in the hot sun, I might be dehydrated (and have a fairly persistent stabbing pain in my arm), but I’m alive (technically speaking). First thing on my agenda, get rid of this stupid hat that looks like a grey sock and return to the rocken fedora look. Second thing on my agenda… stop horrible stabbing in arm.

It’s a half day walk back to the road, but it’s just nice to see the sun again. Also, I feel an irrational need to put as much space between me and Vault 11 as possible. Irrational, because now that I’ve blundered through pretty much every booby-trap in the place there really isn’t much left that is a threat to me down there.
In fact, should I desire to live in a Vault again, I could clear the place out and make it my home. However, after the Ceremonial Chamber that place is off my list of holiday destinations. Also, the history of that place gives me the heebe jeebes.

Why, hello there. I've been meaning to make a trade.

Why, hello there. I’ve been meaning to make a trade.

Luckily the arm situation isn’t going to be a problem, as shortly after I find the road I run into a roving trader who is able to furnish me with a doctor’s kit. Rather than slap on the medications in a rush I decide to wait until I make my stop at trading post 88. It’s not too far away now… I can almost picture the sweet sight of traders and safe beds.

You know what's fun? Walking. Walking and sand.

You know what’s fun? Walking. Walking and sand. Think positive, right?

The walking with a broken arm isn’t super-ideal, but I press on. I arrive as it’s getting dark and decide to sleep the night in a safe bed before attending to business in the morning.
In the light of a new day I’m able to do a spot of trading, picking up a few new items (including a mod for my trusty pistol). The local cafe provides a good meal and fresh water. And best of all I met Veronica again.
Veronica seems happy to see me… Just like I’d never left, in fact. She’s been hanging out here this whole time, still wearing that light leather armour and particularly stylish hat. As a gift I offer her the Stealth Armour I recovered from Vault 11 – It suits her a lot better than it did me.

Oh, sweet slumber - to you I surrender.

Oh, sweet sleepy slumber – to you I sincerely surrender. (Yay, alliteration!)

I done got you this purty dress.

I done got you this purty dress.

Despite all that happened before, and the horror stories that have transpired since then, Veronica is still keen to come with me. After Vault 11, Veronica’s happy voice would be a refreshing change of pace. Also, a girl who can punch a man’s head out his arse is always a welcome companion.
And so, after relaxing for a few days, I’m ready to be on my way again. The trip is going to be a lot more interesting now that I’m rocking with a whole group. Ed-e, Veronica and Joe – Oh, my!

Rather then following the road, like I have three times before, I decide to just lead my little party in the general direction of New Vegas and see what we can find as we stumble through the desert. It’s an adventure, and everyone’s invited!

First place we come across is an old petrol station. Is’s not everything we could have hoped for…

Why are you looking at me like that?

“Why are you looking at me like that? Oh, okay… fine. I’LL go first. See if I care.”

At last. We can give up this life of scavenging.

At last. We can give up this life of scavenging.

The nearby Train Station yielded much better results. Odds, ends and a pile of pre-war bills are a good find. Not that we use pre-war money these days, but collectors will always pay a few caps.

Sir? Sir! I seem to have taken a wrong turn at Albuquerque

Sir? Sir! The train seems to have taken a wrong turn at Albuquerque

If the petrol station was a disappointment and the train station was lackluster, the next location offers much more promise. Space museum? Hell, yes – there’s got to be some crap worth looting from there! And I want it!

Enough wasting time with petrol stations and train stations.

Enough wasting time with petrol stations and train stations. We’re going to loot us a Space Station!

Leave a Reply

