Putting the ‘L’ in Leader.

Okay… so whose bloody stupid idea was it to wonder off the beaten path? Surely, I can find someone else to blame for my current predicament!
This is a lesson I should have learnt back when Joe travelled from the ranch to Novac. Remember? The last time I moronically wondered off the road and had to spend the night out in the desert?

Well, apparently I’m incapable of learning from my mistakes, so we spend half a night and most of a day wondering about in decrepit ruins. Eventually I made the call that we should return to the old train station and rest it up a little.

“I am the greatest leader ever! Nothing can stop us now! Follow Joe! Follow me, Procurements United… To victory!”

“I am the greatest leader ever! Nothing can stop us now! Follow Joe! Follow me, Procurements United… To victory!”

“Hey, ‘Glorious leader’, this place looks a little familiar. Don’t you think it looks a little familiar?” “Shut up, Veronica.”

“Hey, ‘Glorious leader’, this place looks a little familiar. Don’t you think it looks a little familiar?”
“Shut up, Veronica.”

Sadly, the new morning doesn’t bring a big improvement and more pointless wondering is in store.
We do stumble across a road, but it’s not the main one, and it’s regrettably devoid of any place to grab refreshments or a quick nap.
We do stumble across a trashed caravan – the third that we’ve found around New Vegas. Like the others, it looks like it was attacked with energy weapons, but unlike the others there is nothing interesting here for me to loot. A double tragedy, I’m sure you’d agree.

“Hmmm. Pity. Nothing we can do for them now I suppose, and no point crying over what can’t be undone. Let’s just salvage what we can and move on. Wait… what? What do you mean the raiders took already everything of value? No! NO! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! WHY, GOD? WHY?!? What a catastrophe - What an inhuman catastrophe!”

“Hmmm. Pity. Nothing we can do for them now I suppose, and no point crying over what can’t be undone. Let’s just salvage what we can and move on. Wait… what? What do you mean the raiders took already everything of value? No! NO! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! WHY, GOD? WHY?!? What a catastrophe – What an inhuman catastrophe!”

Our own path does cross with the odd raider occasionally, but they aren’t an issue. Between Ed-e’s lasers and Veronica’s Plasma-Rifle, they rarely even manage to get a shot off before they are disintegrated or melted down into a puddle of green goo.
This effectively makes any would-be raider into a loot-piñata… one that Veronica is all too happy to smack open. In fact, we were running out of water until a helpful Fiend donated some to for us… by which I mean it fell out of his pack when Veronica punched his limp body several miles down the road.

Dale, dale, dale. No pierdas el tino!

Dale, dale, dale. No pierdas el tino!

In fact, the only real danger is that I might inadvertently get zapped by one of my fellow members of Procurements United. For the most part I just stand there while blasts whiz around me. Given their blasé attitude to the proximity of my face to their gun barrels, it seems that Ed-e and Veronica are seem somewhat hazy on the finer points of fire arm safety.

Watch my face! Watch my wonderful, immaculate face!

Hey! Watch my face! Watch my wonderful, immaculate face!

We actually wonder past some pretty interesting looking places, but I’m tired and hungry and I just want some place to sleep. What’s also kind of interesting is that this whole time we are in sight of the flashing lights and towers of the Vegas Strip, but in spite of the fact we can see civilisation right next to us, there is no entrance on this side of the city. Everything we could possibly want is right there, but the impregnable, immovable wall means that those towers might as well be on the moon.

We finally get a break when I notice a drugged out junkie hanging out by an old dilapidated motel. Stray junkies aren’t something I’d normally celebrate, but this is something of an exception. By-and-large, you’re not likely to have homeless junkies lying about inside of active warzones. Well… not living ones, at any rate.
Like a seagull indicating that land is near, the junkie was an omen. An omen of a relatively safe bed.

“Behold, Veronica! Behold the junkie, blessed harbinger of peace! We will follow the junkie to safe harbour!” “What do you know, Joe? You're plans could get worse!  I thought we had reached a plateau, but I was wrong. So. Very. Wrong.” “Sometimes I surprise even myself!”

“Behold, Veronica! Behold the junkie, blessed harbinger of peace! We will follow the junkie to safe harbour!”
“What do you know, Joe? Your plans could get worse! I thought we had reached a plateau, but I was wrong. So. Very. Wrong.”
“Sometimes I surprise even myself!”

We head on over to the building and look for an open door. The first we try has a dead body lying on the floor amongst a smorgasbord of drugs and syringes, but it also has two beds so it’ll do. I drag the decreased junkie into the bathroom and leave it hanging out in the bath before sealing that door behind me.
This has actually worked out really well. We can use this room as a base of operations to explore the surrounding buildings before pressing on to the strip. Perhaps I’m a great leader after all!

“We’ve home!” “Joe… you’re kidding, right? There’s a dead drug addict on the floor.” “I’m not saying it’s not a tad rustic, but you did say you wanted to see how people live. Now you get to experience an authentic drug hovel!” “Yay?”

“We’ve home!”
“Joe… you’re kidding, right? There’s a dead drug addict on the floor.”
“I’m not saying it’s not a tad rustic, but you did say you wanted to see how people live. Now you get to experience an authentic drug hovel!”
“Yay?”

“See, Veronica? It cleans up real nice.” “Swell. You take the junkie deathbed.”

“See, Veronica? It cleans up real nice.”
“Swell. You take the junkie deathbed.”

Leave a Reply

