Ant No Problem

So yesterday was a little bit of a pointless exercise, but I’m sure that today will be better.

There is a new dilemma quietly looming on the horizon – and that is the problem of food. I hadn’t really budgeted food for hanging about in an old motel. The plan was to head to Vegas and sell all my junk to unsuspecting shmucks, so edibles are looking a tad skim on the ground.
But I can’t let myself become preoccupied with little things like starving to death when there are buildings to loot.

“Don’t let the debilitating hunger distract you from the sweet, sweet loot.”

“ Victoria, don’t let the debilitating hunger distract you from the sweet, sweet loot.”
“Just so you know, I would betray you right now for half a cheese sandwich”

I picked the Allied Technologies offices because I was hoping to repeat the unbridled victory of the Repconn Headquarters, but it was not to be. What I did find when I bust into the first room was ants… giant monster ants.
Despite my disappointment at the lack of killer technology, there is a certain amount of providence at work. I did need food, so the ant meat is almost as good as a new ray-gun.

Behold! The rare flying ant!

Behold! The rare flying ant!

"Joe, I swear to god... if I hear one more ant pun I will shoot you in the face."

“Oh, more ants. Hazzah. At last… we can retire.”
“Veronica, your sass helps nothing.”

Sadly, further exploration of the offices doesn’t reveal any sweet electronic freebies – what I do find is collapsed ceilings, ruined unreadable books, random rubbish and …oh, yeah… a butt-load more ants.

It’s not exactly the victorious expedition I was hoping for, but I guess it’s a mild improvement over yesterday.

The ant. The ant. The ant is on fire.

The ant. The ant. The ant is on fire.

Ant no problem!

Ant no problem!

You ant no friend of mine

“You ant no friend of mine.”
“Joe, One more ant pun and I will shoot you in your face.

As we step out of the Allied Technologies offices and into the ruins of New Vegas we almost immediately bump into an NCR patrol who are engaged in a pitched battle with roaming Fiends. I resist any urge to rush into the fray, but Ed-e and Veronica both insert themselves into the situation with their typical blasé abandon, spraying energy-weapon fire far and wide.

HOWZAT!!!!

HOWZAT!!!!

Turns out that the NCR Troopers were happy for the assistance and not too interested in the remains of the ravenous raiders, which is a good thing since I can always use a little more ill-gotten loot. And it turns out that these raiders were fairly well supplied – one was even packing a rapid-fire laser rifle!

"Name's Joe. No need to thank me. Always happy to help."

“Name’s Joe. No need to thank me. Always happy to help.”
“Sir… you didn’t do anything. Can we talk to the lady in the Power-armour? The useful one?”

It’s a tad ironic that we would ransack a technology company and get nothing but ant meat… only to pick up advanced technology from wondering raiders who are little better than tribals.

"See? Trust me and we'll go far!"

“See? Trust me and my plans, and we’ll go far!”
“Wait… whose plan?”

Leave a Reply

